Monish Nagisetty's Space

Building connectivity on-premise, in the cloud and beyond

Best Buy and Your Personal Information

I was at Best Buy today and I decided to sign up for the Reward Zone Program. The rep at the register asked for my phone number and instantly pulled up my personal info.  A quick glance at the screen indicated that they had my home address and phone number. They probably captured this info when I first swiped my credit card without any fear.  In fact,  now I am sure that they also capture my purchases and returns to track my buying behavior.

Just then it hit me! If best buy collects my personal information, how many other retails stores do the same? I already know that online stores collect and probably store my information.  But my main concern is not that the retailers store my personal info but whether they store it in a secure manner. Sure the big retailers may have security procedures to handle sensitive information. But what about the small ones? How many of them can you trust? How many of their systems are being breached right now? Who knows…But recent incidents at DSW and Lexis Nexis tells me that it is certainly possible. The information overload is sure to seap through the cracks somewhere.  Someone may already be cracking these retail systems to get at your personal info.  If my assumptions are correct, then the number of sources to get at your personal info are already plentiful.  Let’s hope that some of them are not poorly secured.

December 29, 2005 - Posted by | Observations |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

