Monish Nagisetty's Space

Building connectivity on-premise, in the cloud and beyond

VMWare Server – Missing ASP.NET tab in IIS

I recently ran into this issue after I installed VMWare server on my Windows Server 2003 (32-bit) w/SP2 OS. I lost the ASP.NET tab in IIS immediately after I installed VMWare Server 1.0.2 build-39867.

Here are the steps to fix the issue:

1) Stop the IIS Admin service (and any services that depend on it)
2) Open C:\WINDOWS\system32\inetsrv\MetaBase.xml in notepad or your favorite XML Editor. _DELETE_ the line that reads ‘Enable32BitAppOnWin64=”TRUE”’
3) Start -> Run -> iisreset

Your tab should now be back and functional.

Did I mention that VMWare Server is free? Go get it now: http://www.vmware.com/products/server/

June 19, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

1 Comment »

  1. […] Missing ASP.Net tab in IIS October 13, 2008 at 11:06 am | In IIS | Tags: IIS, Web development I realized that the ASP.Net tab no longer exists in IIS after installing VMWare Server. My machine has Windows Server 2003 SP2. After googling on the web I found this solution: […]

    Pingback by Missing ASP.Net tab in IIS « Mohamed Abdelghani Blog | October 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

